Only The Beginning

 

Dear friends and family,

First of all, thank you from the bottom of my heart for your love, support and prayers these past few weeks. I have officially been in Costa Rica for 25 days! Yeeeee! I’m living the life of a Tica (What the people who were born in Costa Rica are called) and loving it. The past few weeks have had their ups and downs. I’m learning the true meaning of vulnerbility and how much freedom comes with that. I’m learning about community, culture and being loved by strangers that have now become my family. I’m learning to wake up before the sun does and see Jesus.. In the chaos and in the calm. The Lord has been showing his endless love and grace and protection on my life. But what’s new?

Now, for a story:

Our second week here we took a trip to Jaco! About three hours away from where I am living- it was a beautiful day at the quaint beach town. On the way back we arrived at the bus stop a little later than expected (seeing as the area it’s in is not too safe) as soon as we walked off the bus we were swarmed with taxi drivers; we kindly declined and called for an Uber instead (the cheapest, safest option) our Uber driver arrived and we got in into the car and as we were about to drive away about seven taxi drivers surrounded our vehicle and started cursing and yelling for us to get out. At this point they had our driver by the shirt trying to pull him out of the window. Everything felt like it was moving in slow motion. Instantly, all five of us started praying out loud. The next thing I know, I look up and our driving is throwing the car into gear and he floored the gas pedal! A taxi driver that was blocking us in the front rolled off his windshield and we were out of there. The only way I can describe it is that it felt like our car was lifted and placed a block away where we safely made it home. I mean WHAT?! All I can say is: JESUS. How incredible; what a testimony. I was even able to pray for our driver before we got out of the car. Seeds. Planting seeds.


I mentioned before that I wake up before the sun… It’s not exactly my choice but because I have Breakfast Duty! Myself and two other people cook breakfast every morning at 5:30 am cook for everyone on base! Humbling. Very humbling haha! I love it though and I love serving my family. Jesus shows his love and creation in the tiny things like sunrises and fresh cut mango and burned fingers from lighting the oven. I’m thankful.


DTS pancake for the win!

Anyways !!BIG NEWS!! Our DTS (Discipleship training school) has started praying for OUTREACH !!!! Where we will travel our last two months to share the love of Jesus and practice what we’ve learned during the current lecture phase! This time is crucial and very important for us. I would like to ask for your prayers for us in this time that the Lord will reveal his heart as he is already doing and that financially, spiritually and physically we will be cared for. We are going through intense classroom times, bible studies and prayer as long as doing local evangilism (street ministry: passing out bibles and praying for the broken hearts of people here in San Jose) I trust in the Lord he’s brought me this far; he’s going to take me further! He’s a good father and provider. Thank you again. I will be able to give you more information about our outreach in a few weeks!

If you have any questions, words or encouragement or concerns feel free to contact me 🙂 thank you for being apart of my journey. It’s only the beginning…

Pura Vida

Love,

Gloria Ann

GIVE + CONTACT ME

 

2 thoughts on “Only The Beginning

  1. Wow- already reading miracles! Hebrews 13:21 (NLT): May HE equip you with all you need for doing his will. May he produce in you, through THE “POWER OF JESUS CHRIST”, every good thing that is pleasing to him. All glory to him forever and ever! Amen! I love you, Titi 💜

    Like

Leave a Reply

